How to fight the climate crisis with Naomi Klein and Elizabeth Wathuti

Panel Talks & Workshops

How to fight the climate crisis with Naomi Klein and Elizabeth Wathuti

6:00 pm - 7:00 pm | 17 June 2021
Online | £7.81 - £22.37

No Logo author Naomi Klein will be in conversation with climate activist Elizabeth Wathuti.

Throughout her award-winning career in journalism, Klein has written urgently about the disaster that awaits us if we do not act to reverse the climate crisis. In How to Change Everything, written specifically for younger readers, she addresses the climate emergency, while also presenting empowering stories and tools for joining the fight for climate justice. Klein herself became an activist in her 20s, and at the centre of the book are a new, younger generation of protestors who have inspired her, including Elizabeth Wathuti.

Wathuti, one of the UN’s Young Champions of the Earth, has already, at the age of 25, taken huge steps in engaging other young people to address the challenges presented by the crisis. Having grown up in Nyeri County, revered for having the highest forest cover in Kenya, Wathuti founded an environmental club while in school. In 2016 she also founded the Green Generation Initiative, a tree-planting scheme that encourages young people to get involved in climate action.

They will join Guardian environment editor Damian Carrington, for a discussion about the most urgent crisis of our times, the young generation who have mobilised to fight it, and what we can all do to bring about change.

Purchase your ticket here

How to fight the climate crisis with Naomi Klein and Elizabeth Wathuti

Journalist, columnist and author Naomi Klein

If you live in the United Kingdom, you can purchase a ticket with a copy of How To Change Everything by Naomi Klein at checkout for the special combined price of £18 including postage and packing (RRP £12.99). Please note that in the current circumstances, some books may be delayed. If we experience any delay in getting your copy to you, we will contact you by email to let you know.

This event will be live streamed online and available to view on demand at a later time for all ticket holders.

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform and streamed globally.

6pm BST | 7pm CEST | 10am PDT | 1pm EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

Header Image: Elizabeth Wanjiru Wathuti