The Importance of Newsroom Diversity

Panel Talks & Workshops

The Importance of Newsroom Diversity

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm | 22 June 2021
Online | £5+BF

For this live streamed event, we will be taking a closer, more critical, look at the issues surrounding representation in newsrooms. According to the Sutton Trust, 80% of news editors attended private school, with only 11% of journalists being from working class backgrounds, and 0.2% being Black. Combined with Women in Journalism’s 2020 research into news organisations’ lack of diversity, this paints a startling portrait of who decides what is newsworthy and how it is reported.

Guardian deputy Opinion editor Joseph Harker will chair a panel including professor of sociology at University of Manchester and former Guardian editor-at-large Gary Younge, and writer and Guardian contributor Lynsey Hanley. Together they will peel back the statistics and ask: with decision-makers in the media being predominantly white, male and privately educated, how can we be certain that the news we’re consuming is the whole story, rather than a carefully constructed narrative that perpetuates long-standing myths?

Further speakers to be announced.

Book your tickets here

This event will be hosted on a third-party live streaming platform Intrado, please refer to their privacy policy and terms and conditions before purchasing a ticket to the event.

After registering, please refer to your confirmation email for access to the event.

This event is being streamed globally.

1pm BST | 2pm CEST | 5am PDT | 8am EDT

Or see this time zone converter to check your local live streaming time.

Header illustration by: Jean Wei