Arts & Culture

The Thread: Conversations Beyond The Return Vol. 6: Return, Resilience, Revolution & Renaissance

5:00 pm - 11:00 pm | 23 August 2020
Online | $0 - $45

For the second time this year, Meeting of Minds is pleased to support and partner the ‘The Thread’ virtual  events!

The Thread is a traveling series of multidisciplinary conversations unpacking Pan-Africanism in the modern context in a post “Year of Return” moment for the culture.

Since its inception as an in-person event in Washington, DC The Thread has gone virtual reaching nearly 7,000 people from 50+ countries.

If 2020 is any indicator, the future is ours to define and take hold of. We’re in the middle of an ongoing black cultural renaissance that’s transposed on top of a global health pandemic and a massive social justice upheaval, to dismantle oppressive and racist systems that have plagued us no matter where on earth we sit.

In this moment, we’ve still managed to be and find the silver lining from the black healthcare workers and researchers unpacking health disparities in our COVID-19 response, to the artists on the continent and throughout the diaspora who’ve been providing the salvo through music, art, and collectivism – the culture moves forward in spite of the circumstance.

This month we are celebrating ‘Black August’ with a focus on revolution in the widest sense of the word, from financial models to sustainability to art and identity. We’re centering next generation ideas coming from our community, bringing together people from every corner of the continent and every spectrum of the diaspora – all while jamming, vibing, and having a good time.

Register here

About Tastemakers Africa

Tastemakers Africa connects the culture to the continent. From unique day tours and events in African cities hosted by locals, to curated group trips, to virtual events and pop ups all over the world – Tastemakers offers the most connected, authentic bridge for people of African descent looking to build, seek, and explore with one another.

Proceeds from The Thread support Tastemakers Africa’s effort to rebuild and sustain tourism on the African continent where 1 in 7 people make a living from working in travel and hospitality. From supporting the Moree Community in the Cape Coast region of Ghana to making individual grants to guides, artists, and creative tourism entrepreneurs our goal is to make sure the industry bounces back stronger than ever. Learn more about our efforts here

The event takes place at 5 PM BST (12 PM EDT) to 11 PM BST (6 PM EDT).

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.